The South West Scotland Collection – Book Launch

Ayrshire, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland’s forgotten corner is home to Scotland’s most famous song writer Robert Burns.  Yet the music of this region goes widely unrecognised.

This collection represents the past, the present and the future of South West Scotland’s musical and cultural heritage, including fiddle and piano repertoire, old pipe music that has lain forgotten, and modern compositions from the region’s top players.

It even includes a book specifically written for young learners, to get young hands playing and having fun learning about the heritage of South West Scotland.

A collection of over 300 tunes with historical notes and folklore with each tune, these books are the regeneration of a lost tradition, heritage and culture, and ensure the music of South West Scotland continues into the next generation and beyond.

Join us at the Street Cafe on Monday 13th August as we celebrate the launch of this fantastic new music collection. Performing will be:

  • Karen McCrindle Warren
  • John Mulhearn
  • Callum Moffat
  • Ross Cowan
  • Chris Gray
  • and two trio’s from the South West Scotland Piping and Drumming Academy.

This line up includes:

· 4 piping degree students,
· a Silver Medal winner,
· a Gold Medal runner up,
· 5 Grade 1 pipers,
· a World Pipe Band Champion and a runner up,
· and an author of 42 piping and drumming books

So it will be piping of the highest quality performing great music from the South West of Scotland.

Date & Time: Monday 13th August 2018 at 14:00

Venue: The National Piping Centre

Tickets: Free